Nakhane Announced New Album Bastard Jargon And Released New EP

The third studio album­ will be released on March 3, 2023 via BMG.

by GRIOT - Published on 28/12/2022
Nakhane. Photo: Alex de Mora

The South African multi-disciplinary artist and musician Nakhane recently announced their third studio album. Alongside the announcement they released the Leading LinesEP, a collection of tracks from the upcoming record, including the brand new song You’ve Got Me (Living Again).

In a statement on their new album, the musician and songwriter explains: “It’s an existential sex album. Almost every song on it has some kind of wink towards sex. It’s not necessarily a seductive, come to me, bedroom eyes kind of sex—it’s much more inquisitive, psychological sex. When I wrote You Will Not Die it was at the end of my relationship with Christianity, and then when I wrote Bastard Jargon I’d moved to London and I threw myself into just wanting to feel good.”

 Listen to Leading Lines below

Bastard Jargon

01. The Caring
02. Tell Me Your Politik [ft. Moonchild Sanelly and Nile Rodgers]
03. The Conjecture
04. Hold Me Down
05. Hear Me Moan
06. Do You Well [ft. Perfume Genius]
07. My Ma Was Good
08. You’ve Got Me (Living Again)
09. Standing in Our Way
10. If You Were to Complain

Follow GRIOT on Facebook, @griotmag on Instagram Subscribe to our newsletter

This post is also available in: it

Art & Culture, Music, Photography, Style, Video

Sharing. Inspiring. Spreading culture. GRIOT is a nomadic space, a botique media platform, and a collective collecting, amplifying and producing Contemporary Culture, Arts, Music, Style, from Africa, its diaspora and beyond.